Elvis Presley Home

Review : Elvis : February 1977 In Concert CD

By: David Adams
Source: Elvis Australia
October 15, 2013 - 12:06:37 PM
Elvis Presley Bootleg CDs & DVDs, Elvis Reviews, Elvis CD Reviews, By David Adams

Email this page.

I just received the CD, Elvis February 1977, In Concert and not only can I confirm that Elvis is in good form, and the sound quality is top notch, it is indeed a very complete testament to the fact that Elvis still was king in 1977. Even is sporadic. Kicking off with a great version of 'Big Boss Man' [April 29] then in to February 21 starting with 'Are You Lonesome Tonight' while Elvis does forget the words it is another classic with Elvis' banter with Estelle of the Sweets. 'Reconsider Baby' shows he is still the best white blues singer. Moving on we have a ultra rare 'Moody Blue' and it is a good and full version, not a one liner.

I bought the ELVIS: FEBRUARY 1977 CD ... absolutely amazed by the stereo sound and particularly by 7-8 of the performances. He plays and sings on WHERE NO ONE STANDS ALONE and any fan has to say it surpassed the original vinyl rendition by about 15 times! Thank you, Phil, CA, USA..

CD Elvis Presley 6 CD Set Elvis 1977 : 6 CD Set
DVD Elvis Presley 6 CD Set Elvis 1977 : 6 DVD Set

Elvis Presley MP3 Audio Audio Sample of this CD : (09:56)

Below you can listen to a 9:56 sound sample of most of the songs on this album.

Loading the player ...

Macromedia Flash Player 9.1+ required to play this video. Macromedia Flash Player 9.1+ required to play this video. Apple iPad Compatible.

Use the 'share' button in the top right corner of the video screen to share on Facebook, Twitter or email the page link to your friends. Use the 'share' button to share on Facebook, Twitter or email the link to this page to your friends.

Elvis News Latest Audio (and video) updates : Video courtesy of Elvis Presley MP3 Audio Elvis Presley MP3 Audio Central Central.

'Hurt' has us reeling like anyone at the opera such is the performance, as does 'How Great Thou Art'. Included are a few tracks from outside February '77 to make this a unique and fulfilling concert experience, 'Blue Christmas' from March '77 is excellent but then we they have used 'Softly As I Leave You' the 1975 recording that was issued as a single, beautiful, but here we have the full recording with Elvis starting with an informal 'Welcome To My World' before commencing which makes this special. Then from 1976, the majestic 'America The Beautiful'. This really is wonderful, perfect sound and a great performance. Then the classic 'I Really Don't Want To Know', 'If You Love Me (Let Me Know)' is the original recording overdubbed for use on the 'Moody Blue' LP, here once again we get the full recording with Elvis starting out with 'Fairytale' before stopping and then going in to what you know is a great performance of 'If You Love Me (Let Me Know)'.

Closing the album is the rarest of recordings, and performed so well, 'Where No One Stands Alone' with Elvis playing piano, then into a single release worthy performance of 'Unchained Melody'.

As for February 1977 CD you were absolutely right the sound is first class ... Alain [France].

Elvis : February 1977 CD.
Elvis : February 1977 CD.

Track listing

  1. Big Boss Man (04/29/77)
  2. Are You Lonesome Tonight? (02/21/77)
  3. Reconsider Baby (02/21/77)
  4. Love Me (02/21/77)
  5. Moody Blue (02/21/77)
  6. You Gave Me A Mountain (02/21/77)
  7. Jailhouse Rock (02/21/77)
  8. O Sole Mio / It's Now Or Never (02/21/77)
  9. Little Sister (02/21/77)
  10. Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel (02/21/77)
  11. My Way (02/21/77)
  12. Release Me (02/21/77)
  13. Hurt (02/21/77)
  14. Why Me Lord (02/21/77)
  15. How Great Thou Art (02/20/77)
  16. Blue Christmas (03/26/77)
  17. Blueberry Hill (02/14/77)
  18. Love Letters (02/14/77)
  19. Softly As I Leave You [With Welcome To My World] (02/13/75)
  20. America The Beautiful (03/21/76)
  21. I Really Don't Want To Know (06/21/77)
  22. Fairytale / If You Love Me (Let Me Know) (04/26/77)
  23. Elvis Talks / Striptease (02/16/77)
  24. Where No One Stands Alone (02/16/77)
  25. Unchained Melody (02/16/77)
  26. Can't Help Falling In Love (02/16/77)

Elvis Presley Video Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD

Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD + 16 page booklet.

Never before have we seen an Elvis Presley concert from the 1950's with sound. Until Now! The DVD Contains recently discovered unreleased film of Elvis performing 6 songs, including Heartbreak Hotel and Don't Be Cruel, live in Tupelo Mississippi 1956. Included we see a live performance of the elusive Long Tall Sally seen here for the first time ever.

This is an excellent release no fan should be without it.

The 'parade' footage is good to see as it puts you in the right context with color and b&w footage. The interviews of Elvis' Parents are well worth hearing too. The afternoon show footage is wonderful and electrifying : Here is Elvis in his prime rocking and rolling in front of 11.000 people. Highly recommended.